Chuuk State Enviromental Working Group

16 December 2024



On December 16, 2024, Chuuk State convened its inaugural meeting of the Environmental Working Group (SEWG) as part of the GEF7 Land Degradation Neutrality Project. This meeting welcomed both new and returning members from a diverse array of organizations, including the Chuuk State Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), Chuuk Power Utility Corporation (CPUC), Department of Environmental Health and Sanitation, Department of Agriculture (DOA), Chuuk Disaster Emergency Operating Center (CDOC), Chuuk Youth Council, Chuuk Women's Council, Cooperative Research Extension (CRE), and the Chuuk Land Commission, fostering a collaborative environment aimed at advancing the objectives of the project.

The Chuuk State Engagement Officer, Mr. Adriel T. Setik, delivered a comprehensive presentation on the GEF7 LDN project, detailing its goals, current progress, and key milestones. This was followed by an in-depth discussion regarding Chuuk's 2025 Annual Work Plan (AWP) for the GEF7LDN project, emphasizing key activities and objectives for the upcoming year.

The primary purpose of the meeting was to formally revive the Chuuk State Environmental Working Group for the GEF-7 project. This gathering provided a platform for raising awareness about the project's current status and furthered a deeper understanding of the 2025 Annual Work Plan and Budget.

In addition, the SEWG agreed to proceed with the establishment of a Community Working Group, which will actively engage village chiefs and landowners in the decision-making process for the demonstration site under Component 3 of the project. The group demonstrated a strong understanding of their respective roles and responsibilities within the scope of the project.

The next meeting of the Chuuk State Environmental Working Group was scheduled for January 15, 2024, as proposed by Acting Director of Agriculture, Mr. Harman Mailo, and seconded by Mr. Mj Martin from the Department of Sanitation.

CONTACT INFORMATION

Project Manager

Rosalinda Yatilman rosalinda.yatilman@decem.gov.fm Tel: +(691) 320-8812/8814/8815

National Technical Coordinator

Rachael Nash rachael.nash@decem.gov.fm Tel: +(691)950-8704

Communications Officer

Karet Johnson Silander karet.silander@decem.gov.fm Tel: +(691) 320 - 8814/8815

Project Finance and Administrative Assistant

Ymee Charley ymee.charley@decem.gov.fm Tel: +(691)320-8815

Yap State Technical Coordinator

Vallynna Gippin vallynna.gippin@.decem.gov.fm Tel:+(691)350-2183

Kosrae State Technical Coordinator

Tamae Waguk-Luckymis tamae.waguk@decem.gov.fm Tel: +(691)370-3646/3713



FSM GEF 7 LDN Project



Kosrae State Technical Coordinator

Tamae Waguk-Luckymis tamae.waguk@decem.gov.fm Tel: +(691)370-3646/3713

Pohnpei State Technical Coordinator

Vandela Warren vandela.warren@decem.gov.fm +(691)320-2712

Yap Stakeholder Engagement Officer

Debra Laan debra.laan@decem.gov.fm Tel: +(691)350-2113

Kosrae Stakeholder Engagement Officer

Onniel Nena onniel.nena@decem.gov.fm Tel: +(691) 370 - 3017

Chuuk State Stakeholder Engagement Officer

Adriel T. Setik adriel.setik@decem.gov.fm Tel: (691)330-4158/2613

